November 6, our first slushy storm. I attended a lovely presentation at Crossview Church by author Julie Klassen, winner of multiple Christy awards as well as other Christian fiction writing awards. She was an editor at Bethany House before becoming a full-time writer of romantic historical fiction (Jane Austin era). She has had six books published and has another on the way this December.

I read her last book, The Tutor’s Daughter, and it was excellent. Biggest take away from the talk…Julie produces at least a book a year and claims other authors often do more. Lots of pressure to produce on deadline. Positive notes: she has visited her book settings in England twice. I do like that idea.

I’ve always wanted to visit England, Wales (my heritage) and Switzerland/Italy where my YA novel is set. Maybe someday. I have visited Athabasca Landing and Williston, North Dakota, where my Mattie book is set. It was a wonderful trip by car. Can’t imagine it on rail, wagon, boat, and on foot.

