Tags

,

I’ve always loved words. Meanings. Order. Science. Nature. Puzzles. Fibonacci poetry combines it all.

I find that writing Fibonacci poetry distills my thoughts in ways narrative writing cannot do. Completing a poem brings a satisfaction something like I get after putting together a jigsaw puzzle. There is a participation in someone else’s art and the challenge of putting the pieces together that brings a peculiar joy when one is finished.

This is particularly true when I am working on scriptural poetry.   I started writing a series of “I AM” poems based on verses in the Bible where God says: I AM the Lord who… and a piece of his character is revealed. Putting the scriptures in Fibonacci poetic form makes me think of each word in a new way. Understanding is coerced so that I can formulate a deeper meaning.

My dear writing friend and photography buff, Terri DeGezelle, has found great delight in taking pictures of Fibonacci forms found in nature. We have combined our loves in a new book together that we are working to make a reality. It has been a joyous experience for me.

An example:

I

AM

before

Abraham

or Melchizedek,

before Noah and the great flood

or even Adam and Eve were conceived in my Spirit,

before Earth’s land formed in the midst of the waters, before light and darkness existed,

or time, black holes and galaxies, space, atomic particles; before principalities, powers, angels, demons and throne contenders—I AM

 Isa 43:10 “You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD, “and my servant whom I have chosen, so that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor will there be one after me.

Prayer: O God, how fathomless your age—we who measure by years and accomplishments. You have ordained time for us, sun and moon to keep days and months straight, earth’s orbit to keep the seasons. But, You exist outside of our finite world. You were before carbon dating or matter itself, before heaven or earth. You live forever. Pictures from space help my finite mind glimpse eternity, but You are far beyond what my mind can grasp.

I hope others enjoy this too.

